Sussex is divided into two counties – East and West Sussex – and the  City of Brighton and Hove.   The walks are broadly organised by district, though I have combined districts where this makes more sense from a walking perspective.

East Sussex

  • Brighton and Hove
  • Lewes – also including Seaford, Newhaven and Ditchling
  • Wealden and Eastbourne – including Alfriston, Ashdown Forest, Hailsham and Uckfield
  • Hastings and Rother – also including Battle, Rye and Bexhill

West Sussex

  • Mid Sussex – including Haywards Heath, Hassocks and East Grinstead
  • Worthing and Adur -also including Shoreham-by-Sea and Lancing
  • Arun – including Arundel, Littlehampton and Bognor Regis
  • Chichester – also including Petworth, Midhurst and Goodwood
  • Horsham – also including Steyning, Henfield, Crawley and Amberley

The South Downs National Park crosses a number of districts starting from Eastbourne in the east through to Arun in the west.

Ashdown Forest is in Wealden District.