Herstmonceux Castle

Herstmonceux Walk (East Sussex County Council, PDF)

cup of teabushistoric attraction

A generally easy walk along country lanes and across fields with some stiles, passing close to Herstmonceux Castle. The moated castle is one of the earliest important brick buildings in the country, having been constructed in the mid fifteenth century by Sir Roger Fiennes. In 1946, it became the home of the Royal Greenwich Observatory, who stayed for 40 years. Now owned by the Queen’s University of Canada, the House and Gardens can be visited between April and October, whilst the Science Centre is open though much of the year.

Starting in the picturesque village of Boreham Street, a large part of this walk, including this section, follows the route of the 1066 Country Walk which runs between Pevensey and Rye. Walking across fields and along lanes, the castle is reached just before halfway round.